Strategy, Strategy, Strategy.

At the heart of every successful advertising campaign is a concrete strategy. A strategy answers questions. It tells you the what, how and why. It is something you can continually refer back to when you feel like you may be losing sight of the meaning and purpose of a campaign. Throughout my work this term with various clients (real and hypothetical), I have discovered that it can be difficult to stay on strategy. What does staying on strategy even mean? It is common to become so invested in certain ideas that you can’t remember where they came from in the first place. The struggle to remain relevant with your ideas  can be overbearing, and in the end a lot of shitty work is produced by people who lose sight of what is important. My goal: Avoid shitty work. My solution: Get advice.

It was so refreshing at the beginning of the term not to have required books, but rather reading suggestions. One of my favorites on the list was “The Advertising Concept Book” by Pete Barry. The physical traits, the layout, the smooth cover, the sketchy designs, and of course the actual content kept me wanting more. As week eight rolled around, I found myself overwhelmed with everything but schoolwork, and it was nearly impossible for  me to find and refocus on the strategy of a campaign I am working on. I picked up this gem for the first time since week two and got ‘ta diggin’. So much advice, so little time. Here are some ideas I have drawn from the book that have helped me refocus my creative energy:

  • Think now, design later.
  • It’s better to fail in originality, than succeed in imitation.
  • The strategy statement contains only the first stage of research.
  • Bigger doesn’t always mean better.

To say the least, the four ideas above don’t even begin to touch the tip of the iceberg. This book contains 268 pages of advertising bliss. No excuses not to make the purchase…less than 20 bucks on amazon.

Read it. Learn it. Eat it. Feel it. Breathe it. Conceptualize it. Yeah.

Leave a Reply

